Khajuraho Temples, Madhya Pradesh

Khajuraho Temples

The Khajuraho temples(950-1050 CE) are a group of Hindu & Jain temples in Madhya Pradesh. Out of 85 temples, only about 20 temples have survived. The name Khajuraho, or Kharjuravāhaka, is derived from Sanskrit (kharjura – date palm, vāhaka – ‘carrier’). These temples are famous for their intricately carved nagara-style statues & erotic sculptures. It’s designed as per Hindu vastu-purusha-mandala or grid-geometrical design. The art work symbolically highlight the four goals of life considered necessary and proper in Hinduism – dharma, kama, artha and moksha. Of the surviving temples, 3 are dedicated to Jain Tirthanks, located in SE region. All three ideas from Āgamas are richly expressed in Khajuraho temples – Avyakta, Vyaktavyakta and Vyakta.

Aruna Sundaresan

Aruna is a full-time writer, a part-time entrepreneur. She holds a Masters degree in Philosophy & Religion. In her free time, she loves to travel and read poetry.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

About us

SpiritualNest is a holistic website dedicated to helping people on their spiritual journey. Our focus is on providing relevant and interesting content that adds value to the overall wellbeing of our readers.